2018 Summer Conference ~ Archive

July 13-16, 2018

Loews Philadelphia
1200 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107

Celebrate ACR’s 40th Anniversary, Millennium Foyer Saturday 3:35 to 4 p.m.


Attendees are responsible for making their own hotel/travel arrangements.
Click Here to Book Now! or
To make reservations by phone, call 888-575-6397.

  • Make sure to ask for the NASS conference room rate which is $202 per night, plus 16.25 percent tax.
  • The rate is guaranteed through June 14, 2018, or until the room block sells out.
  • Any cancellations, no-shows or early departures without 24-hours advance notice will result in the forfeiture of one night deposit.


The Loews Philadelphia is approx. 12 miles from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL).
Please arrange your own ground transportation. How to get to the hotel:

  • A taxi ride to or from the airport is about $30 one way.
  • Uber and Lyft are available at the Philadelphia International Airport.
  • The Amtrak (PHL) train station is one mile from the Loews located at 2955 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104.
  • If you are driving valet parking at the hotel is $49 parking daily.

Conference Registration

Registration is now open. Click here.
Early Registration Rates are:

  • ACR Member $500
  • Guest/Spouse $350
  • Child (ages 4-18) $150

ACR Members Nongovernmental

Non-voting members of ACR include private sector rule publishers, compilers, and database editors from various companies or organizations involved with administrative rules. These nongovernmental companies are split into three categories.

  • NASS/ACR Corporate Affiliate: These are corporations who are registered with the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) as a corporate affiliate. The levels for a yearly corporate affiliate include: Platinum,  Gold, and Silver. Contact Stacy Dodd at (202) 624-3525  about becoming a NASS Corporate Affiliate.
    For more information visit http://www.nass.org/corpaffiliates/about-corp-affiliate-program/
  • NASS/ACR Corporate Sponsor: These are companies who sponsor conferences at different levels – from $2,500 up to $20,000. Contact Stacy Dodd at (202) 624-3525  about becoming Summer Conference Sponsor.
  • NASS/ACR Corporate Member: These are companies that are not registered with NASS as a corporate affiliate or corporate sponsor but still want to participate at the ACR winter meeting or summer conference. Some of these members still support ACR by sponsoring an event, or a breakfast, lunch or dinner that are not on the agenda.

A NASS/ACR corporate affiliate and/or sponsor membership has an advantage as the company pays less to sign up for a meeting or conference. Attendees representing a company that are NOT a NASS corporate affiliate or sponsor should register as “corporate non-members.”

  • Staff, Government, or Non-profit $500
  • Corporate Affiliate $500
  • Corporate Non-member $1000

A late registration fee of $100 per person will be added after Thursday, June 14, 2018. Online registration for this event closes July 3, 2018.

Attendees can also attend applicable agenda items on the NASS Conference Agenda

2018 ACR Conference Meeting Agenda

July 13 – July 16, 2018

Unless otherwise noted, all sessions will be held in the Tubman Room, Third Floor of Loews Philadelphia

Blueprint of the third floor with arrow showing where the conference room is located.

Thursday, July 12

Travel Day
Those arriving July 12 meet in the lobby at 6:30 p.m. for ACR group dinner!

Friday, July 13
Conference Registration is open 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. on the Millennium Foyer.

1:00 – 1:45 p.m.
ACR Officers and Executive Committee Meeting will be conducted in the Tubman Room. This meeting is open to all ACR attendees.

2:00 – 2:15 p.m.
ACR Welcoming Statement will be given by Emily Caudill, ACR President with an Introduction of the ACR Officers and Executive Committee members.

2:15 – 3:45 p.m.
First ACR Business Meeting is slated. The business meeting agendas will be provided. Conducted by Emily Caudill, ACR President.

3:45 – 5:00 p.m.
2018 Edition of Who’s Who and What’s New

6:00 – 8:00 p.m.
EVENING EVENT will be held at the National Constitution Center, 525 Arch Street. Transportation will be provided (Business Attire)

8:00 – 10:00 p.m.
Dessert Reception will be held at the Barnes Foundation, 2015 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy. Transportation will be provided.

Saturday, July 14

8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Conference Registration  is open on the Millennium Foyer

8:00 – 9 a.m.
Breakfast is served in the Millennium Hall

9:00 – 11:00 a.m.
Who’s Who and What’s New (continued)

11:00 – 11:15 a.m.
Morning Break Millennium Foyer

11:15 – 12:00 p.m.
Who’s Who and What’s New (continued) OR Roundtable

12:15 – 1:15 p.m.
NASS/ACR Lunch Millennium Hall

1:30 – 2:45 p.m.
Keeping it Clean: Reducing “Red Tape” and Outdated Rules presented by Karen Howard and Mike Duchek

2:45 – 4:15 p.m.
Second ACR Business Meeting is slated. Conducted by Emily Caudill, ACR President.
Retirement Resolutions:
Stephanie Hoff Retirement Resolution
Jane Chaffin Retirement Resolution

3:45 – 4:00 p.m.
Afternoon Break Millennium Foyer

5:00 p.m.
ACR Networking Session hosted by Thompson Reuters. Meet in the lobby. The networking event will be at the Field House, 1150 Filbert Street,  Casual Attire is recommended.

Saturday, July 16

 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Conference Registration  is open on the Millennium Foyer

8:00 – 9 a.m.
Breakfast is served in the Millennium Hall

9:00 – 10:30 a.m.
Breaking the Code: How States Organize (and Reorganize) Their Rules presented by Jill Ledbetter, Scott Eaton, and Mike Broschinsky

10:30 – 10:45 a.m.
Morning Break Millennium Foyer

10:45 – noon
Colborn Award Presentation and Demonstration with an introduction by Anne Bloomsburg, Awards Committee Chair

12:15 – 1:45 p.m.
NASS/ACR Lunch with IDEAS Award Presentation Millennium Hall

2:00 – 2:45 p.m.
Publisher’s Challenge: New Technology and User Interfaces presented by Denise Kipfstuhl and Rachel Utter

2:45 – 3:00 p.m.
Afternoon Break Millennium Foyer

3:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Accessibility Rules! Presented by Whitney Quesenbery

6:00 – 9:00 p.m.
EVENING EVENT  at the Reading Terminal Market ~ Walking distance

Monday, July 15

8:00 – 9 a.m.
Breakfast is served in the Millennium Hall

9:00 – 10:30 a.m.
Rulemaking Pennsylvania Style presented by Laura Campbell

10:30 – 11:00 a.m.
Planning Session: Where Do We Go from Here? Conducted by Emily Caudill, ACR President.

11:00 – 11:15 a.m.
Morning Break Millennium Foyer

11:15 – 11:45
Closing Remarks and Introduction of New Officers. Conducted by Emily Caudill, ACR President.

12:00 – 1:15 p.m.
Lunch with NASS ~ NASS Leadership Ceremony and Induction of the 2018–2019 National Officers Millennium Hall


2018 Summer Conference Committees (As of 6/28/2018)

Program Committee
Emily Caudill, Regulations Compiler, Administrative Regulations Section
Legislative Research Commission, Kentucky

Bruce Hoesly, Senior Revising Attorney/Code Editor
Legislative Reference Bureau, Wisconsin

Archives Committee
Chair: John Martinez (NARA)
Committee Member: Kristen Breiner (CT)

Nominations Committee (Chair TBD)
Committee Member: Jane Chaffin (Emeritus/VA)
Committee Member: Yvette Smallwood (DE)
Committee Member: Julie Yamaka (OR)

Awards Committee
Chair: Anne Bloomsburg
Assistant Registrar
Virginia Division of Legislative Services
Phone: (804) 698-1884

Committee Member: Emily Ewart
Rule Specialist and Policy Analyst, Montana
DEQ Waste and Underground Tank Management Bureau

Committee Member: Deanna Maiolo
Program Manager, Colorado
Code of Colorado Regulations Administrative Rules

Web site Committee
Chair: Scott Cancelosi (AZ)
Committee Member: Mike Brochinsky (UT)
Committee Member: Kerry Radcliff (WA)