Press Release – NASS Administrative Rules Organization Honors Colorado Administrative Rules Program with 2014 Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Award

Colorado Secretary of State’s Office Recognized for Implementation of Uniform Electronic Legal Records Act

For Immediate Release
July 28, 2014

WASHINGTON, DC – Administrative Codes and Registers (ACR), a section of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), awarded Colorado’s Administrative Rules Program with the 2014 Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Innovation Award.

Presented as part of the association’s annual conference held July 13 through 16 in Baltimore, Maryland, this year’s Colborn award recognizes the Colorado Secretary of State’s implementation of the Uniform Electronic Legal Materials Act.  Through its adoption, the state has enabled government users to be more effective and efficient, while also providing clear assurance that users have access to official, authenticated state regulations.

”We’ve made great strides to improve how my office delivers services, and this latest program illustrates our commitment to innovation,” said Colorado Secretary of State Scott Gessler. “We aim to be the best in the nation, and this award shows we’re on the right track towards achieving that goal.”

ACR created the Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Innovation Award in July 2001, in honor of the late Robert J. Colborn, Jr., who served as the administrator of the Maryland Division of State Documents from 1974 through 2001 and founded ACR.

The Colborn Award annually recognizes a program that demonstrates creativity and innovation in providing public access to, or management of, administrative rules.  It honors a state agency that has made substantial contributions to the flow of information to the public by improving efficiency and delivery of services to citizens, businesses and other governmental entities.

“Since the passage of this uniform law, states have been striving to put these benefits in effect for our customers,” said Colorado Administrative Rules Program Manager Deanna Maiolo. “We are honored to be recognized for delivering a new and efficient service to our stakeholders.”

This marks the second time Colorado has received the Colborn Award.  In 2007, Colorado was recognized for its Code of Colorado Regulations Online Portal.

With its broad applicability to a growing number of states, Colorado’s implementation of the Uniform Electronic Legal Materials Act is recognized for demonstrating creativity and innovation in assuring authenticity, integrity, restorability and usability of administrative rules electronic publications.

2014 ACR Robert J. Colborn Jr. Committee

Kenneth A. Hansen, Chair — Director, Utah Division of Administrative Rules, Salt Lake City, Utah

Liz Cloud — Program Administrator, Florida Department of State Administrative Code and Register Section

Kerry S. Radcliff — Editor, Washington Statute Law Committee

Past Colborn Award Recipients

2013 — Utah Division of Administrative Rules
2012 — Award not issued
2011 — Florida Division of Library and Information Services
2010 — New Mexico State Records Center and Archives Administrative Law Division
2009 — Virginia Division of Legislative Services
2008 — Arkansas Secretary of State
2007 — Colorado Secretary of State
2006 — Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
2004 — Office of the Federal Register
2003 — Missouri Secretary of State, Administrative Rules Division
2002 — Virginia Department of Planning and Budget

For more information, visit

About NASS

Founded in 1904, the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) is the oldest nonpartisan, professional association of public officials in the United States.  Members include the 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.  NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy.  The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services and digital archiving, as well as several well-established awards programs.


Media Contact

Kay Stimson 202.624.3528, or