

NEWS RELEASE

Contact: Leslie Reynolds (202) 624-3525

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 3, 2009

NASS Administrative Rules Organization Honors Virginia Division of Legislative Services as 2009 Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Innovation Award Winner

Virginia's Division of Legislative Services Recognized for Web-Based Regulation Information System, Online Enhancements

Minneapolis, MN— The Administrative Codes and Registers (ACR) Section of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), which recently held its annual meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, awarded Virginia's Division of Legislative Services/Virginia Code Commission with the 2009 Robert J. Colburn, Jr. Innovation Award. The Division of Legislative Services was chosen for the creation of the Regulation Information System (RIS), a web-based application that provides streamlined publication of regulations for the public. The legislative branch's RIS interfaces with the executive branch's regulatory review system, which is administered by the Department of Planning and Budget. RIS highlights include streamlined publication of the Virginia Register of Regulations, daily updates to the Virginia Administrative Code, and sharing of regulatory information between the legislative and executive branch systems.

"Virginia's new Regulation Information System is a fine example of two separate state agencies working together to create an innovative filing and database management system that has simplified processes and improved access for state personnel and the public," said ACR President Julie Yamaka, Oregon State Archives Publications Manager. "I am delighted that our members in the Administrative Codes and Registers Section have recognized the Virginia Division of Legislative Services with the 2009 Colborn Award."

Administrative Codes and Registers (ACR), a section of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), created the Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Innovation Award in July 2001 in honor of Robert J. Colborn, Jr., who served as the administrator of the Maryland Division of State Documents from 1974 through 2001 and founded ACR. The Robert J. Colborn, Jr. Innovation Award annually recognizes a program that demonstrates creativity and innovation in providing public access to, or managing, administrative rules. It honors the state agency that has made substantial contributions to the flow of information to the public by improving efficiency and delivery of services to citizens, businesses and other governmental entities.

"We are honored and privileged to be selected as the recipient of this year's Colborn Award. As public expectations for online availability of current regulatory information increases, RIS provides us with the tools we need to help meet those expectations," said Jane Chaffin, Virginia Registrar of Regulations, who accepted the award on behalf of the Division of Legislative Services.

2009 ACR Robert J. Colborn Jr. Committee

Chair: Jon Davidson, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Arkansas Secretary of State, Little Rock, Arkansas Member: Linda Emry, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Idaho Transportation Department, Boise, Idaho
-MORE-

PAGE 2 of 2

Member: Emily Caudill, Administrative Regulations Compiler, Kentucky Legislative Research Commission, Frankfort, Kentucky

Past Colborn Award Recipients

2008 -- Arkansas Secretary of State

2007 -- Colorado Secretary of State

2006 -- Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

2004 -- Office of the Federal Register

2003 -- Missouri Secretary of State, Administrative Rules Division

2002 -- Virginia Department of Planning and Budget, Virginia Regulatory Townhall

For more information, visit http://www.administrativerules.org/.

###