# NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SECRETARIES OF STATE

# Administrative Codes and Registers Section

2004 Summer Conference 2nd Business Meeting

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans, Louisiana

Monday, July 19, 2004

### Attendees:

<u>Governments Represented:</u> Montana, Idaho, Delaware, Georgia, Washington, Maryland (2), Kansas (2), Virginia, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Arkansas, Utah, South Dakota, West Virginia, New Mexico, Louisiana (3), New York, Massachusetts, Missouri (2), Oregon, New Mexico

Nongovernments Represented: Loislaw

### 1. Call to Order

ACR President Kathy Lubke (MT) called to order the second business meeting of the 2004 summer conference at 3:00 p.m. It was noted that a quorum was present.

### 2. Old Business

Kathy provided highlights from the NASS business meeting. Several new policies impact ACR. First, ACR must present its budget for the winter meeting. Previously, only the summer meeting budget was presented to and approved by NASS. Also, NASS has asked ACR to develop a list of potential corporate affiliates.

NASS has appointed the Honorable Bill Bradbury (OR) as ACR liaison.

Kathy asked the members to advise the officers of any issues that need to be brought before NASS.

### 3. Committee Reports

### Colborn Award Committee

Jay Lagarde (VA) reported that the Colborn Award Committee, consisting of Jay, Frances McDonald (DC), and Jon Davidson (AR), received and reviewed nominations and discussed the nominations by telephone. Each committee member performed individual evaluations of the nominations. The Missouri Secretary of State's office was selected as the 2003 award recipient for its innovative electronic regulation filing, management, and publication system.

Jay mentioned that current criteria encourage mostly projects involving automation. He said that the focus is innovation, which can be found in areas other than automation. Jay suggested reviewing the existing criteria to determine if any changes need to be made. Jay also suggested that NASS be asked to issue a press release about the award.

#### Program Committee

John Martinez (NM), 2004 Summer Program Committee Chair, reported that the conference planning went well and he thanked the other Program Committee members, Kathy Buchli (WA) and Alex Mull (DE). John stated that he received a good response from the ACR List-serv when he requested input on topics of interest.

Kathy presented plaques to the Program Committee members in appreciation of their work on the committee.

### Nomination Committee

Dennis Schnepfe (MD) presented the 2004-2006 slate of officers on behalf of the Nominating Committee. Dennis reported that the nominees are Dennis Stevenson (ID) for president, Jane Chaffin (VA) for vice president, and Julie Yamaka (OR) for secretary-treasurer.

### 4. Election of Officers

There was a call for nominations from the floor. There being none, the nominations were closed. A motion was made and seconded to approve the slate of officers as presented by the Nomination Committee. The motion was approved.

# 5. Closing

The membership thanked Kathy for her service as ACR president.

Kathy presented certificates of appreciation to the Executive Committee members.

### 6. Adjournment

Kathy adjourned the second business meeting at 3:30 p.m.

http://www.nass.org/acr/2004minutes2.doc